Taking life as it comes…

In my recent adventures I’ve found myself thinking about where I’ve been and where I’m going.

It’s been several years since my “little vacation” to the hospital and my diabetes diagnosis. It that time I’ve grown and become more the person I want to be.

Becoming who you want to be isn’t an easy process. But, it is worth doing. Becoming is a process that involves effort and pain.

It isn’t necessarily a linear process. In fact it usually isn’t a linear process. There are a lot of things that go into a human life dear reader. We don’t’ all deal with them in the same order. We rarely have complete choice in what we have to deal with. And, we never get all the way through life without adversity.

We’re actually lucky in that way. Adversity helps us to grow and change. If we had no unmet desires and no challenges to face we would never become more than we are; we would never reach our potential. It would be stupid and we wouldn’t do it.

Often it’s not the fact that we face a challenge that makes things better or worse: it’s how we react that mattes. It’s how we choose to act that matters.

We can learn, grow, and overcome, or we can let things eat at us; let them wear us down. We can choose to be positive (at least as positive as we can in the moment)), or we can choose to be negative, whiny, and mean. One of those choices is surprisingly effective at making things better, and the other isn’t…

Sometimes it’s not the challenge, but how we deal with other people while we deal with the challenge that matters. (I know…I know… I’m not perfect at this myself. But, I’m trying!)

I can’t make a blanket statement about how to act in all situations, or in dealing with all people (there are several billion people out there which adds up to several trillion interactions or situations (at least!)). But, more often than not calm and measured out performs “losing it”.

You can influence other people just through what you say and do. You can change what you do and how you do it. That means you can become better and become a better influence on society, and so can everyone else…

That’s it for this one dear reader. At this point the book is in press, and the graduation’s done. The diabetes is in check, and the in-laws have gone home. So, more sure than I’ve been for a while… See you next post!

Leave a Reply

