Learning More, Becoming Better

The other day I was pondering what to do with this blog. I felt like I was going to loose one of the things that I like to talk about here. One of the ones I’ve gotten a lot of reactions to.

For a moment I thought I was going to give up on writing about diabetes stuff here. I felt like I was a victim of my own success. I’m not really having a lot of side effects or trials, so what’s to write about?

I realized having things to talk about diabetes wasn’t the problem. I needed to reorganize the way I think about, and write on, the blog!  There are really four main themes/subjects that I want to be the focus of this blog: Writing, Creativity/creating, Independence/ability, and choice.

My fight about whether I had anything to say about diabetes was flawed. If I wanted to sit around groaning about symptoms, then I don’t have a lot to say here. But, if I look at it in terms of my four subjects/themes there is a lot to say. I can talk about the choices one makes in living with diabetes. I can talk about being independent while dealing with diabetes. I can talk about creative solutions when dealing with diabetes. I can write about what I’m writing about diabetes. That’s a lot of good options.

Using this system I can (and will) talk about a lot of things I’m interested in. They’re all fair game as long as I can fit them into one or more of the themes. I will probably keep writing about diabetes fairly often (I hope to have at least one if not two books on it out in the next year or so). I will also be talking about psychology, history/mythology, family experiences and other things I run into. I’m just going to make sure that they are talked about in the context of the four themes.

This way I get to talk about the things I want to. And you, the reader, have a more solid base to know what to expect on the blog. The blog will be both free to vary, and consistent in content. This change is really going to help me, and hopefully the better focused content helps you too.

That’s it for today dear reader. Until next time…

remember focusing and limiting aren’t the same thing!

Leave a Reply

