It’s done!

As of this moment my official word count stands at 55,008 and there are probably 3000 more words in the note book to transcribe, but I’ve finished a novel in a month! Of course when I say I finished it in a month that means the first draft and doesn’t include the eight years I’ve carried the story around in my head before I started writing…

Working on this project has done a lot of good for me. I’m more confident in my process and my ability to put out the words. I’ve watched a new story go from beginning to end and experimented with things in my writing that I haven’t done before. I’ve learned and created and done what needs doing to get the job done… Now comes the hard part…

I will finish the edits and get this thing out there, but after I finish the transcribing I need to let it sit for a little while. So after I finish transcribing, probably Monday November 30th, I’ll be leaving this one alone until January. Then I will pick it up and edit and if I’m very very lucky get it finished and ready to publish by the end of the year (my actual goal is sooner but I’m not going to reveal that date just yet).

Will I do it again?

Probably. I may not do it next year. My wife should be graduating with her doctorate this spring and who knows where we will be in November of next year, but I think I will be doing this again. I will certainly be continuing on with my writing.

Would I recommend someone else try it?

General answer: Yes. It’s a good way to test yourself. And, good things can come of participating in the process even if you don’t win.

That’s it for this one dear reader.

Until next time…

It is over until it begins again!

Leave a Reply

