The highs and lows while coping with the highs and lows…

Ok, last week I talked about my wife being gone this week and the start of NANOWRIMO..And I said I would update today…

That said it will probably be a short update… I have been doing a lot or writing.

I think missing my wife has actually shown up in my behavior and blood sugar readings. The combination of writing, a lot, and her being gone has definitely had an affect. In the early part of the week I actually hit a couple of lows that were much lower than expected. Apparently the brain does need a lot of energy to run full tilt!

The book is really coming along nicely. I’m one of those weird ‘write it out on paper then transcribe it’ writers, so my official word count is a little behind my actual word count (about a days worth at the moment). I’m guessing the official count is behind by about 2500 words. My official word count is at 10062 by the way!

At the moment the word count actually doesn’t matter to me. I’ve found a cool story, an engaging story. And, I get to be the first person to read it! I think that’s one of the things I like about being a fiction writer. If you’re doing it right you get to discover new stories. Even if you’re the most linear out-liner in the world there should still be something that’s unexpected, something that hooks you about your story. If it doesn’t hook you, why would it hook anyone else?

Of course I’d love to have a best seller. I’d love to be like Masters and Johnson and have a book sell out on the first day! But, really when I’m writing this story, the story is the important part. It’s what I wake up in the middle of the night thinking about. It’s the thing I worry about. How’s it going to work? Even though I ‘know’ where it’s going how is it going to get there?

One of my favorite points, which I get to sooner because of my write/transcribe style, is the “Wait! Did I really put that in there?” point. It’s that point where you see things fit together that you never consciously thought out. And, it’s happened at least twice on this one already!

This one is a story I want to share, but it’s also one I want to get right. Unofficially I’m about a quarter of the way through my NANOWRIMO goal but there’s still a long road to go.

Well, that’s it for this one dear reader.

Until next time…

Trust the story, it will get you through!

Leave a Reply

