Assumptions and other bad ideas…

Interesting thing happened to me shortly before I wrote this…

The hospital I ended up in a few months back (when I was diagnosed with diabetes) just tried to send me an inappropriate and uncalled for demand letter…

Problem 1: Someone over there made a decision without bothering to check their own records…

Problem 2: Someone over there made the assumption that a letter would scare me…

Problem 3: Someone over there made the assumption that I was less than intelligent and didn’t keep and check records…

Problem 4: Someone over there failed to realize this wasn’t their first mistake…

Now, I am not an overly vengeful person (some of my friends will say that I’m deliberately cranky… but they admit that that is just to amuse myself…). I do take offense when someone tries to breach a contract and punish me for their mistakes. This was all sorted out (for the moment at least) with a couple of phone calls; however, the whole thing could have been avoided if people bothered to get good information and think in the first place.

This was something that could not have been positively corrected, once it happened, if I hadn’t held up my end; kept good records; and knew what was going on. Believe me… after they learned that I had full documentation from both my side and theirs about what was going on, and that I was aware my state is a triple damages state, they straightened themselves out very quickly.

The moral(s) of this story… Educate yourself. Keep good records. Know what is going on around you. Be patient and polite where appropriate, but stand up for yourself too.

As Sun Tsu said…

If you know your enemy and yourself you need not fear the outcome of a hundred battles.

If you know yourself but not your enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat.

If you know neither your enemy nor yourself you will succumb in every battle.

In my own words…

And succumbing in battle can cost you.

That’s it for today dear reader.

Hope you’ve been having a better one than I have…

Leave a Reply

